Small Changes, Big Results

People often ask for my viewpoint on nutrition, weight loss, and success – making changes “stick”. In simple terms, here’s my philosophy:

  1. Small changes…taken one at a time.
  2. Accountability…to one’s self and someone else.
  3. Target dates…to accomplish each new beneficial step.

Recently, I met with a young woman, ecstatic because she lost 4 lbs in one week, “without dieting”.   Based on her eating patterns, she chose to follow through with the following three steps from a list we compiled:

  1. Drink 80 oz of water daily; obtained by 16 oz at 3 meals and 16 oz upon waking and in the afternoon.
  2. Larger, baseball-sized portions of nutrient-rich fruits and vegetables that she was already eating and enjoying.
  3. More “activity” in the evenings, rather than sitting.

These few steps resulted in weight loss because the “fill-up value” of water, fruits and vegetables   enabled smaller portions of other calorie-rich foods. In addition, an evening project of fixing up her patio kept her engaged in a fun, rewarding activity after a full day of work.  No “reward” food in front of the TV was needed!

Small changes, big results. This is the note she wrote me:  “I love that I don’t feel like I am dieting, but I am still losing weight.  I am starting to see how taking care of myself can happen by making small, positive changes daily.  This is a significant shift for me, so I am grateful!”

What small changes can help you trim 50 calories off breakfast, 100 off lunch, 100 off dinner, and 50 off a snack?  Think about it, because here are the potential results:  a loss of approximately 8 pounds in 90 days!  Add 60 min of additional physical activity weekly (if appropriate) for a loss of approximately 10 lbs in 90 days! That is success!

I am a big believer that it is the little things that count the most! Do YOU have tips for small changes that help you achieve your best health, weight, fitness, energy?  I would love to hear them. Please share your ideas in the comments below.

For more resources and tips, visit www.georgiakostas.com. Also, follow me on Twitter @georgiakostas or like my professional Facebook page, Georgia Kostas Nutrition.

Leave a Reply

